Writing techniques, how do you do it?

Greetings Wrecketeers!

This post is slightly different to the others that I’ve blessed you all with so far, for this time… this time I’m asking you a question.

I want to know your process, your style… what makes you tick. I want to really get up inside your noggin and poke around until you forcibly cast me out.

But why, King Wrecket? Why would you stoop so low as to listen to the word of the common man?

Peasant_king_for_a_day

Good question peasant! Although the answer is simple. A King needs to understand his people, truly know the pagan ways of the common folk. Otherwise what sort of ruler would I be!

Well, there’s that and the “self-improvement” nonsense that people flap their tongues continuously about. You know, all that listening to those that know what they’re talking about rubbish.

Well, anyway moving on. To clarify what I’m asking is simple. I want to know how you write. Literally from start to finish. Are you a planner? one of those boring types that plan each and every minute detail down to the amount of golden leaves on the tree of life that grows outside the hero’s window… Or are you a fan of Chaos? The type the surprises themselves each time they put pen to paper, the story seemingly writing itself before your very eyes. The best kind obviously.

funny-chaos-Skittles-chocolate-candies

Not that I’m biased or anything of course… even though I myself am very much a fan of chaos. Always have been, I mean really, ask my girlfriend. What she calls a hideous messy bombsite, I call an organised mess where I know the exact location of every single thing in the room. Before I forgot them all.

If I’m honest, I’m always a little surprised when I read back what I’ve written, to the extent that it’s almost like telling myself the story. I have no idea what’s going to happen next until it’s actually down on the page before me… I even remember one time getting so pissed off with myself for killing one of my favourite characters off, I refused to talk to myself for a week.

In all seriousness, I am aware that there is a name for this style of writing. Although for the life of me, I cannot remember what the hell it even is. All I can remember is some of the greats, including George R.R Martin himself, personally employs this writing style.

george-rr-martin

Again, returning to opinion, which admittedly is the opinion of an unpublished author (although said unpublished author is also the King of Wrecketoria). I believe that by writing without the cage and barriers of a plan; completely lets loose the floods of creativity. Just picture your painstakingly created outline as a hideous dam of rotten driftwood crisscrossing the channel that your liquid creativity uses to transverse the metaphorical pathways from mind to fingertips. Now see what you’ve done? Never again will your creativity seep from fingertip to page.

I actually read an article recently about how not outlining your novel is better, which personally I wholeheartedly agree with (although if you haven’t worked that out by this point, you should probably give up on your novel writing endeavour altogether as you appear to be one brain cell short of a marshmallow.). Even better was the finishing line of the article:

Your only task is to create. The less you know before you start, the more you stand to uncover as you write.

I mean damn… That’s the shit right there.

If you want to read more from this specific article, the links here:

NY book editors: planning to outline your work? Dont.

Of course this is only my opinion… let me know what you think!

 

 

 

 

8 Comments Add yours

  1. RedheadedBooklover says:

    Hi ! I never normally comment on other people’s posts but I just came across your blog and I have to comment and tell you that I adore it! Your blog is so wonderful, I am so happy I just came across it. I am going to follow you right now so I can keep up to date with all of your posts; I look forward to your next ones! Keep up the great work (:

    Liked by 2 people

    1. wrecket says:

      Hey 🙂 I really appreciate that, thank you so much for the kind words. Amazing seems to be in my bones, I just can’t help it! 😉

      Liked by 1 person

      1. RedheadedBooklover says:

        You are so sweet to message me back! You are so welcome, your blog is wonderful and I am so happy I came across it!
        Do you have Twitter or Instagram? I would love to follow you!

        Like

  2. You really are an intolerable egomaniac aren’t you? “King Wrecket” indeed!

    Like

    1. wrecket says:

      And you’ve only just worked this out? Half arsed runner? Half arsed brain usage too. ;]

      Liked by 1 person

    2. Anyway, in response to your question, I think both strategies should be employed in equal measure: some planning can help to avoid writer’s block later on, but too much planning kills the spontaneity and, for me, can make the story feel contrived. I should probably point out that I am currently further away from getting published than you are though!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. wrecket says:

        Not necessarily true, for I may never get published whereas you may. Hopefully not the case, but a possibility. I can’t do the whole structure thing, it makes it seem more like a chore or work rather than something I enjoy.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. You’ve put more consistent hard work into it than I have so far!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

